Curriculum Study Program

Founded in 1985, the Curriculum Study Program brings molecular biology and recombinant DNA technology into the science classroom. Long Island member schools and districts have preferred access to the DNALC and enjoy a direct affiliation with Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, an acknowledged leader in molecular biological research. Members select from a menu of benefits and services.

Benefits Package 2019-20

Tier 1

$3,150 per district includes all benefits listed below, and:

  • One Free Advanced Inquiry lab, and half-off one additional Advanced Inquiry lab.

Tier 2

$2,100 per district includes the following benefits:

  • preferred reservations for high school and middle school laboratory field trips
  • one free high school student laboratory field trip, and half off on up to three additional field trips (Advanced Inquiry, Human Mitochondrial Sequencing, and Forensic DNA Profiling cannot be used as free trip)
  • one free middle school student laboratory field trip, and half off one additional visit (does not include in-school programs)
  • preferred student and teacher reservations at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory science lecture
  • preferred placement for teacher audit of up to two summer camps
  • student/teacher previews of new museum exhibits
  • laboratory and curriculum consultation
  • equipment purchase options

Curriculum Study Program Members 2019-2020

Years of participation follow district name.

  • Bellmore-Merrick Central High School District, 18
  • Cold Spring Harbor Central School District, 34
  • East Meadow Union Free School District, 26
  • Elwood Union Free School District, 23
  • Fordham Preparatory School, 17
  • Half Hollow Hills Central School District, 34
  • Harborfields Central School District, 30
  • Herricks Union Free School District, 31
  • Island Trees Union Free School District, 30
  • Jericho Union Free School District, 34
  • Levittown Union Free School District, 21
  • Locust Valley Central School District, 31
  • Long Beach City School District, 21
  • Massapequa Union Free School District, 28
  • North Shore Central School District, 33
  • Oceanside Union Free School District, 22
  • Oyster Bay-East Norwich Central School District, 32
  • Plainview-Old Bethpage Central School District, 30
  • Portledge School, 33
  • Port Washington Union Free School District, 33
  • Roslyn Union Free School District, 29
  • Syosset Central School District, 34
  • Yeshiva University High School for Girls, 15